top of page

[How To]: 3 Hairstyles For An Old Twist Out!

I have never been a twist-out type of girl. Ever since I went natural, braid-outs have always been my go-to hairstyle. I didn’t shut twist-outs out of my life completely. I tried to do one a long time ago, and it ended up being a MAJOR fail! So, I stuck with my braid-out routine and never looked back. I decided a few weeks ago that I wanted to challenge myself more when it came to my hair. Although my braid-outs were quick and easy, they took too long to dry, and honestly, I was getting tired of it. The first challenge I gave myself was, of course, the twist-out. I never really liked twist-outs because my twist always came out extremely puffy. I loved the defined look my braid-outs gave me, and my twist-outs never even came close. But nonetheless, I decided to do one any… and wow! It came out amazing. It lasted me a whole week! I wanted to come up with different styles to keep my twist-out look cute and still put together. Whether it’s for date night, brunch, or even to work, these three hairstyles will help keep that old twist-out looking new!


Tools Needed:

-Hard Brush

-Gel of Choice

-Rubberbands

-Bobby Pins

1. Braided Half-Up Half-Down w/ Bun When I’m having a bad hair day, this is my go-to style! I have a few damaged pieces in the front of my hair, which tend to lose its definition throughout the week, so throwing the top half in the bun eliminates the unruly strands! I love adding a messy bun to the look as well! Sometimes to keep the look from being traditional and boring I add two braids in the front!

Instructions

1. Spilt top half and bottom half of hair and separate

2. Pull two pieces of top half out for braided pieces

3. Slick top half, using hard brush and gel, into a bun

4. Braid two pieces in front

5. Pick out bottom half to desired look


 

2. The Bun Of course, us natural girls know that when it comes to bad hair days, failed hairstyles, or even when we are in a rush, a bun is our go-to look! Usually, when my hair is too chaotic to manage, I throw it in a cute large messy bun! This is a quick style for me in case I don’t have time to re-twist or re-style my hair. It takes only 5 minutes to do!

Instructions

1. Using gel and hard brush, slick up out layer of hair

2. Gather hair into rubber band and pull into a bun

3. Pin and style bun to your desired look


 

3. Braided Slick Back Pony Some days when my hair is looking a mess, and I have to go somewhere more formal, I always style my hair this way! The two braids in the front allow me to keep my hair out my face in a cute design. I either add a cute puff ponytail to the look or throw it in a bun if my curls are less defined! I think this look is super cute and a quick way to transform your hair into an elegant style!


Instructions

1. Split two sections in front of hair and separate the back section

2. Gel down edges of the two sections and braid the two sections to the end

3. Using rubber band, pull and tie the two braids to the back of hair

4. Grab the separated section and slick down into ponytail or bun

With these quick and easy hairstyles, your old twist-outs can become brand new!

14 views0 comments
bottom of page