top of page

My Everyday MakeUp Routine

Just recently I decided that I wanted to learn how to do my makeup. Makeup was never an interest of mine, but the older I get the more events I attend so I thought it would be a useful skill for me to have. Since I'm only just beginning, I tried to find products that work well for my oily skin and will keep me looking flawless throughout the day!


The first thing I like to do in my makeup routine is my eyebrows. Using an eyebrow spooley, I brush my hairs into place before using any products. I then create an outline for my brows using any black brow pencil and fill them in using Anastasia's Dip Brow in the color dark brown. The key to getting a nice fill is the wet your eyebrow brush a little before dipping it in the Dip Brow. This technique blends the hairs with the product giving a nice smooth look. Once I finish filling in my brows I set the look with Anastasia's Clear Brow Gel! Using a gel when you finish keeps your brows in place throughout the entire day!


After moisturizing my skin, I put on a primer to help shrink my pores and give my foundation a nice base. When I used to wear makeup I never used a primer, which showed as the day went on. My skin would become super oily and my makeup would looked creased and smeared. I've tried multiple primers, but nothing works better than the Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser. I like this primer because it doesn't leave a greasy film on my face like other primers do and it really does shrink my pores under my foundation. It gives my skin a smooth matte finish and helps keep my skin moisturized. I found this staple at my local CVS for only $7!!

After placing my primer on my skin, I then use Maybelline's Fit Me foundation. I absolutely love this foundation! Unlike other drug store foundations I have used, this one doesn't make my face feel heavy and it still gives me enough coverage. This is also the perfect foundation for people with oily skin, like me! It gives a mattifying finish, which keeps the oils from peering through. Maybelline has over 20 shades in this collection! My shade is Cappuccino (340) which is perfect for my skin. In the winter, I do have to use a lighter shade due to the change of my skin color.


Using both of these products together gives me a perfect base for the rest of my makeup!


After creating a flawless base, I then move on to concealer. I have yet to perfect my concealer portion of my routine, but the Maybelline SuperStay Better Skin concealer helps cover my under eyes and any imperfections that I have on my face. I do not use concealer often, but when I do this is my go to! I use shade #10 in medium/dark! I take the wand and swipe back and forth under my eyes until I get a nice coating. I let it sit for about 2 mins and then blend it out with my beauty blender. I often see other makeup artist use concealer on the bridge of their nose, chin, and forehead, but I like to keep it simple!



No matter if I have makeup on or don't, I never leave my house without mascara on. I have used multiple mascara's throughout the year but nothing beats Too Face Better Than Sex Mascara! This mascara makes my tiny lashes look longer and fuller, which I love. I am starting to incorporate false lashes into my routine as well and I use the Too Face Better Than Sex to plump them a little more. This is definitely a staple product in my makeup routine!

I usually don't do this often, but on special occasions I like to finish off my look with a highlighter. My favorite right now is Fenty Beauty's Trophy Wife! When this product came out I had to get it! It's such a pretty shimmery gold color that makes every each of your face glow! This is definitely a staple in my summer makeup routine! I use a fluffy brush and apply it on my cheek bones and the tip of my nose. I try not to over use it because it is so pigmented and a little goes a long way!

Hopefully as my makeup journey continues I will have more staple products to share with all of you! What are some staples in your makeup routine?

32 views
bottom of page